top of page

MouleurE
Analog photography
Artist residency at l'Imprimerie centre d'artistes, 2023

www.limpressionie.art/gdagenais-albertdumouchel-residence 

"The Albert Dumouchel Prize promotes the emergence of new practices in the printed arts by celebrating the audacity and quality of the research of emerging artists. In collaboration with Arprim, the winning artist gets a three-month residency at l'Imprimerie centres d'artistes, including access to the workshops at all times."

 

I would first like to thank the sculptor and molder artist Vincent Lussier for having enthusiastically taken part in this first experience of the "molder-molded", for his confidence, for his time and his gift of self. Thanks also to Paula Youwakim for the chaperonning in the adventure of analog cameras. 

I would like to thank the whole team of the Imprimerie centre d'artistes for the generous opportunity. Thank you for making this project possible, for supporting emerging artists in such a welcoming and warm environment. A precious thank you to Julie Ciot for the assistance and professional advice on lighting. A big thank you to Caroline Savaria for the numerous printing tests and the support in image processing.  

Sans titre_pour web.jpg

Vincent Lussier, mouleur I

Inkjet archival print on Museo Sylver Rag

Medium format
2023


54,5 x 41 cm
Edition of 3

91,5 x 71 cm

Edition of 3

Vincent Lussier, mouleur II

Inkjet archival print on Museo Sylver Rag

Medium format
2023

40,5 x 27 cm
Edition f 3

137 x 91,5 cm

Édition of 3

I create a bridge between two disciplines: sculpture and printing. In these photographs, I propose a parallel between sewing and molding; the lines define shapes that cut out an object, an object that would take on volume when the pieces are assembled.

With the portrait as a photographic approach, I capture on the body of the artist sculptor and molder Vincent Lussier, what could be a piece of mold. The lines drawn suggest the shape of a sewing pattern or even that of a part of a mould. While these lines delimit and orient what is given to see, the image makes it possible to reflect the body as an object as the molder does. The analog capture on film allows me to reveal the image in its materiality.

bottom of page

top of page

MouleurE
Photographies analogues
Résidence réalisée à l'Imprimerie centre d'artistes, 2023

www.limprimerie.art/gdagenais-albertdumouchel-residence 

" Le Prix Albert-Dumouchel pour la relève favorise l’émergence des nouvelles pratiques en arts imprimés en célébrant l’audace et la qualité de la recherche des artistes de la relève. En collaboration avec Arprim, L’imprimerie offre à l’artiste gagnant·e une résidence de trois mois incluant l’accès en tout temps aux ateliers. "

 

Je tiens d'abord à remercier l'artiste sculpteur et mouleur Vincent Lussier de s'être prêté avec enthousiasme à cette première expérience du "mouleur-moulé", pour sa confiance, son temps et son don de soi. Merci également à Paula Youwakim pour le chaperonnage dans l'aventure des caméras argentiques. 

Je remercie infiniment toute l'équipe de l'Imprimerie centre d'artistes pour la généreuse opportunité. Merci d'avoir rendu possible ce projet, d'appuyer la relève et ce, dans un environnement aussi accueillant et chaleureux. Un merci précieux à Julie Ciot pour l'assistance et les conseils pro en éclairage. Un gros merci à Caroline Savaria pour les nombreux tests d'impression et l'accompagnement dans le traitement des images.  

Sans titre_pour web.jpg

Vincent Lussier, mouleur I

Impression au jet d'encre sur papier Museo Sylver Rag sans acides

À partir de pellicule argentique moyen format
2023


54,5 x 41 cm
Édition de 3

91,5 x 71 cm

Édition de 3

Vincent Lussier, mouleur II

Impression au jet d'encre sur papier Museo Sylver Rag sans acides

À partir de pellicule argentique moyen format
2023

40,5 x 27 cm
Édition de 3

137 x 91,5 cm

Édition de 3

Je crée un pont entre deux disciplines : la sculpture et l’impression. Dans ces photographies, je propose un parallèle entre la couture et le moulage ; les traits définissent des formes qui découpent un objet, un objet qui prendrait volume lorsque les pièces sont assemblées.

Avec le portrait comme approche photographique, je capture à même le corps de l’artiste sculpteur et mouleur Vincent Lussier, ce qui pourrait être une pièce de moule. Les traits dessinés laissent présager la forme d’un patron de couture ou encore celle d’une pièce d’un moule. Alors que ces lignes délimitent et orientent ce qui est donné à voir, l’image permet de réfléchir le corps comme objet tel que le fait leA mouleurE. La capture analogue sur pellicule argentique me permet de révéler l’image dans sa matérialité.

bottom of page